Blogging about college football by an Oklahoma Sooners fan.

Sooners in the Pro Bowl

Adrian Peterson

Adrian Peterson is going to the Pro Bowl for the fifth time, and he’s bringing a couple of Sooners with him to Honolulu on January 27.

Peterson had a remarkable year for the Minnesota Vikings by rushing for 2,096 yards after overcoming a knee injury late in 2011. Since turning pro in 2007, he has been voted to the all-star game every year except 2011.

As a rookie, Peterson was named the MVP at the 2008 Pro Bowl by rushing 16 times for 129 yards and 2 touchdowns.

AD will have Trent Williams and Gerald McCoy joining him on the NFC squad. This is the first year both have been voted to the Pro Bowl, and all three should play barring any injuries.

Williams is in his third season as offensive tackle for the Washington Redskins. He starred at the same position for OU from 2006-09, and was an All-American in 2009. He is expected to be a backup for the Pro Bowl game.

Like Williams, McCoy was an All-American in 2009 and made the roster in just his third year in the NFL as a Tampa Bay Buccaneer. He overcame a torn biceps injury to have one of his most productive seasons in 2012. The Southeast Oklahoma City High School product recorded 30 tackles, including five sacks, one forced fumble and one recovered fumble.

Sooners in the Pro Bowl

Player Years Teams
Jim Weatherall 1955-56 Philadelphia
Tommy McDonald 1958-62, 65 Philadelphia
Jerry Tubbs 1962 Dallas
Clendon Thomas 1963 Pittsburgh
Ralph Neely 1967, 69 Dallas
Steve Owens 1971 Detroit
Greg Pruitt 1974-75, 77-78, 83 Cleveland, Los Angeles
Joe Washington 1979 Baltimore
Billy Sims 1980-82 Detroit
Derland Moore 1983 New Orleans
Lee Roy Selmon 1979-84 Tampa Bay
Scott Case 1988 Atlanta
Keith Jackson 1988-90, 92-93, 96 Philadelphia, Miami, Green Bay
Stephen Alexander 2000 Washington
Roy Williams 2003-07 Dallas
Tommie Harris 2005 Chicago
Jammal Brown 2006 New Orleans
Davin Joseph 2008, 11 Tampa Bay
Adrian Peterson 2007-10, 12 Minnesota
Gerald McCoy 2012 Tampa Bay
Trent Williams 2012 Washington

Lee Roy Selmon is the only other Sooner to earn MVP honors in a Pro Bowl. Selmon had four sacks and was named co-MVP in the 1982 all star game.