Blogging about college football by an Oklahoma Sooners fan.

Our endorsement for the 2012 Don Key Award...

Landry Jones

Each year, prior to kicking off the final home game, the Don Key Award is presented to an Oklahoma senior or seniors who exemplify Key’s superior qualities on the field and in the classroom.

No one is more deserving of the honor this year than Landry Jones.

A case probably could be made for any of the seniors who are playing their last home game at Owen Field, but Jones has shown outstanding leadership and sportsmanship for the Sooners. The senior quarterback never complained when Blake Bell replaced him in short yardage situations. He went to California last spring to improve his skills on his own volition. He could have gone on vacation during spring break, but instead he wanted to be a better quarterback.

Don Key was a three-year starter for the Sooners from 1979-81. His career was cut short in his junior year by the removal of a cancerous kidney. Barry Switzer established the award in his honor.

No matter who wins the award, many thanks to the seniors for some good football fun these last few years. Those who will be saying goodbye include: Jones, Justin Brown, Lane Johnson, Casey Walker, Jamarkus McFarland, David King, R.J. Washington, Javon Harris, Demontre Hurst, Tress Way, Patrick O’Hara, Daniel Franklin, Stacy McGee, Dominique Whaley, Jaydan Bird, Joseph Ibiloye, Jesse Paulsen, Lamar Harris, Joel Ossum and Derrick Bradley.


2011: Ryan Broyles, James Hanna, Travis Lewis and Corey Wilson
2010: Jeremy Beal and Adrian Taylor
2009: Brody Eldridge
2008: Jon Cooper
2007: Lewis Baker
2006: Paul Thompson
2005: J.D. Runnels
2004: Entire Senior Class
2003: Kory Klein and Renaldo Works
2002: Brad Davis
2001: Brandon Moore
2000: Entire Senior Class
1999: Rodney Rideau
1998: Jason Freeman, Kelly Gregg and Terry White
1997: Stephen Alexander, Martin Chase and Bruce McClure
1996: James Allen and Michael McDaniel
1995: Milton Overton
1994: Albert Hall
1993: Mike Coats
1992: Steve Collins and Reggie Barnes
1991: Chris Wilson
1990: Larry Medice and Jeff Miller
1989: Mike Wise
1988: Anthony Phillips
1987: Darrell Reed
1986: Paul Migliazzo
1985: Tony Casillas
1984: Steve Sewell
1983: Rick Bryan and Bob Slater
1982: Jerry Sanders